Our Work

We work with communities to design their own sustainable development plans and advocate to achieve those plans.  And we build networks of lawyers and other experts to help the communities’ plans come to fruition.

ACA travaille dans neuf pays de l'Afrique de l'Ouest - la Côte d'Ivoire, le Ghana, la Guinée, le Libéria, le Mali, le Niger, le Nigéria, le Sénégal, et la Sierra Leone - où nous promouvons le droit de l'intérêt public et aidons les communautés menacées à achever un avenir qui vaut la peine de lutter pour le défendre.

Avec seulement dix employés à plein temps et un employée à temps partiel, ACA produit un impact disproportionné à son tailleur à travers de ses partenariats avec des avocats connus de l'intérêt public et les organisations du plaidoyer juridique en Afrique de l'Ouest. Notre travail est divisé en trois volets:

- Projets de développement axés sur la communauté [link], dans lesquels nous appuyons des communautés qui sont en train de résister des projets d'investissement destructifs avec l'articulation d'une vision du développement communautaires, les stratégies judiciaires, et l'assistance technique,

- L'Initiative pour le Droit de l'Intérêt public en Afrique de l'Ouest [link], un mouvement régional des avocats motivés par la justice sociale à servir les communautés menacées, et

- Assistance juridique et judiciaire [link], où ACA intervient directement et et représente ou appuie d'autre manière les communautés de l'Afrique de l'Ouest qui font face aux graves menaces à leurs droits humain, leur environnement naturel, ou leurs terres et moyens de subsistance.

fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrench

Our Work

We work with communities to design their own sustainable development plans and advocate to achieve those plans.  And we build networks of lawyers and other experts to help the communities’ plans come to fruition.

ACA works in nine West African states – Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, and Sierra Leone – to promote public interest law and help threatened communities achieve a future worth fighting for.

With just ten full-time staff and one part-time employee, ACA has an out-sized impact through its partnerships with leading public interest lawyers and legal advocacy organizations in West Africa.  ACA’s work is divided into three streams:

– Community-driven development projects[link], in which we support communities that are resisting destructive investment projects through community-driven development visioning, legal strategies, and technical support;

– The Public Interest Lawyering Initiative for West Africa [link], which is building a regional movement of lawyers driven by social justice to serve threatened communities; and

– Case-based legal support [link], in which ACA directly intervenes to represent or otherwise support West African communities facing serious threats to their human rights, natural environment, or land and livelihoods.

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish